Podcasts | CMGcasts


By Scott Reid | 6 June 2011

With much love and thanks to everyone involved, CMG Podcast #98 is dedicated to an upcoming treat for fans of our Fantasy Covers series.

In exactly two Mondays from now we’ll be re-posting our inaugural Fantasy Podcast, from way back in December of 2006, which kicked off the series in a massive way—featuring exclusive submissions from Shugo Tokumaru (Peter Bjorn & John’s “Young Folks” and Daniel Johnston’s “To Go Home”), Flying Lotus (remixing Kelis’ “Bossy”), Ned Collette (TV on the Radio’s “Hours”), David Thomas Broughton (Cat Power’s “The Greatest” and Scissor Sisters’ “I Don’t Feel Like Dancing”), Cadence Weapon (Chad VanGaalen’s “Mini TVs”), Red Giants f/ Che Grand (Ghostface’s “Be Easy”), Rock Plaza Central (Justin Timberlake’s “Sexyback”), Emperor X (the Skids’ “The Saints Are Coming”), Benoit Pioulard (Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy’s “The Seedling”), Shotgun & Jaybird f/ Julie Doiron (Chad VanGaalen’s “Sing Me 2 Sleep”), SJ Esau (Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy”), Monster Bobby (Will Young’s “All Time Love”), and Ladyhawk (Joel Phelp’s “Blessed Salt Lake”).

But we won’t just be re-posting it as-is; we’ve newly replaced some of the original mixes with better sounding versions (like a remastered “Hours,” a cleaned-up mix of “Young Folks,” and somewhat less distorted versions of the two David Thomas Broughton covers), fixed some jumps in volume, and upped the kbps to 320. Also: bonus tracks from David Thomas Broughton, Gotye, and a reinvention of Red Giants’ “Stay Away (Be Easy).” We’ll be doing the same with the 2nd and 3rd Fantasy Podcasts in the coming months, leading up to the new sixth volume this fall.

Download mp3 (192kbps)

Download cover jpeg


1. Bachelorette: “Sugarbug”

2. Moonface: “Fast Peter”

3. Handsome Furs: “Memories of the Future”

4. Tom Vek: “A Chore”

5. Battles: “My Machines (f/ Gary Numan)”

6. Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat: “Cages”

7. Dead Rider: “L. Rider”

8. Resplendent: “Kill That Fucking Lion”

9. La Sera: “Watch Me Jumpstart”

10. Snowman: “Hyena”

11. Kurt Vile: “Society is My Friend”

12. Chemtrail: “Escape Artist”

13. Wild Flag: “Future Crimes”

14. Matthew Cooper: “It’s Never What It Seems”

Cover art source: Laura Marsh, http://artspacenh.org/artists/lmarsh